Are you unsure of your rights as an employee in Kentucky? Here are answers to the most frequently asked questions concerning Kentucky employment:
Q: What is the minimum wage in Kentucky?
A: The minimum wage in Kentucky is $7.25 per hour.
Q: Can an employer require that I work overtime?
Q: What must an employer pay me for overtime?
A: Time and one-half must be paid for the hours worked in excess of 40 hours per workweek.
Q: May an employer pay “comp time” instead of overtime?
A: Comp time may not be paid by an employer or given to an employee who is subject to overtime law.
Q: What defines a “full-time employee”?
A: Kentucky law does not define full-time or part-time employment. Employers are free to define these terms as they choose.
Q: Must an employer give a paid rest period?
A: An employee is entitled to a paid rest period of at least ten minutes for every four hours of work.
Q: Must my employer give me a meal break and do they have to pay for the meal break?
A: An employee is entitled to a reasonable period for a meal no sooner than the 3rd or later than the 5th hour of their work shift, unless the employer and employee have mutually agreed to some other time period. The meal period does not have to be paid by the employer.
Q: May my employer require that I work more than 8 hours per day?
A: There is no limitation on the number of hours that your employer can require you to work in a day.
Q: Must my employer pay my vacation pay or sick leave upon termination of employment?
A: Whether you are paid for unused vacation or sick leave upon termination of employment depends on the policy and practice of your employer. Kentucky labor law does not specifically require that the employer pay for unused vacation or sick days upon termination of employment.
If you have any questions about employment rights in Kentucky, don’t hesitate to contact an attorney. The attorneys at Skeeters, Bennett, Wilson & Humphrey want to make sure your rights as an employee are honored.